Resources

Tool Libraries
West Seattle Tool Library – http://wstoollibrary.org/ 
Phinney Neighborhood Association Tool Library – http://phinneycenter.org/tools/
SE Seattle Tool Library – http://setools.org/
Capitol Hill Tool Library (opening soon!) – https://caphilltools.wordpress.com/
Tacoma Tool Library (opening soon!) – http://www.tacomatoollibrary.com/
Seattle Farm Co-op – http://www.seattlefarmcoop.com/

Maker Spaces
Alt Space (Central District) – http://www.altspaceseattle.com/
Metrix (Capitol Hill) – http://www.metrixcreatespace.com/
7 Point Studios (Central District) – http://7pointstudios.com/equipmentshoprental/
Pratt (Central District) – http://www.pratt.org/studio-access/
CoMotion MakerSpace (UW) – http://comotion.uw.edu/makerspace
SoDo Makerspace (SoDo) – http://makeitlocally.org/
IsGood WoodWorks (Industrial District) – http://isgoodwoodworks.com/woodworking-shop-rentals/
Puget Sound Woodworking (Snohomish) – http://www.pugetsoundwoodworking.com/collections/shop-services
Gasworks Gallery (Wallingford) –  http://gasworksgallery.com/

Tool Rentals
Seattle Nice Tool Rental – http://www.seattletoolrental.com/
Aurora Rents – http://www.aurorarents.com/
Greenwood Hardware – http://greenwoodhardware.com/
Maple Leaf Ace Hardware – www.mapleleaface.com
Toolsboro – www.toolsboro.com
MyNeighbor – www.myneighbor.com/home/

Materials
Second Use –  www.seconduse.com
Ballard Reuse – http://ballardreuse.com/
Habitat Store – http://www.habitat.org/restores
Earthwise Salvage – www.ewsalvage.com
Portage Bay Grange – portagebaygrange.vpweb.com/
Hardwicks – http://www.ehardwicks.com/
Compton Lumber Company – www.comptonlbr.com
Dunn Lumber – www.dunnlumber.com
Limback Lumber – http://www.limbacklumber.com/
Rain Barrels & Compost Bins – www.seattle.gov/parks/scc/binsandbarrels.htm
Seattle reLeaf Free Tree Program – www.seattle.gov/trees/treesforneighborhoods.htm

Know How
Home Owners Club – http://www.homeownersclub.org/
Instructables – www.instructables.com/
Make – www.makezine.com
Tool Barn University – www.youtube.com
DIY Tool Central – http://www.diynetwork.com/tools-central/package/index.html
Sew Up Seattle – http://sewupseattle.blogspot.com/
Seattle Tilth Garden Hotline – http://seattletilth.org/learn/hotline/index_html

Sharing
Buy Nothing NE Seattle – www.facebook.com/groups/BNNESeattle
Freecycle – https://groups.freecycle.org/group/SeattleWA/posts/all
Seattle Farm Co-Op – www.seattlefarmcoop.com
Seattle Public Library – www.spl.org
Puget Sound Bike Share (Pronto) – https://www.prontocycleshare.com/
Car 2 Go – http://seattle.car2go.com
Zipcar – http://www.zipcar.com/

Energy & Environment
City of Seattle Office of Environment – www.seattle.gov/environment
Weatherization – www.waptac.org
Building Science – www.buildingscience.com
Solar – http://solarizewa.org/
NW Wind & Solar – www.nwwindandsolar.com/

Recycle/ Disposal
Buy Nothing NE Seattle – www.facebook.com/groups/BNNESeattle
Freecycle – https://groups.freecycle.org/group/SeattleWA/posts/all
Craigslist.org – http://seattle.craigslist.org/
The Bikeshack – www.bikeshack.org
Bike Works – www.bikeworks.org
Paint Recycling – https://www.facebook.com/PacificPaintSupply
Styrofoam Recycle – www.styrorecycle.com
Computers/Electronics –  http://interconnection.org/
Batteries – www.call2recycle.org
Household Hazardous Waste – http://www.lhwmp.org/home/HHW/hhw.aspx
Shoreline Transfer Station – http://your.kingcounty.gov/solidwaste/facilities/shoreline-transfer.asp?ID=346

Starting a Tool Library
http://sharestarter.org/tools/
http://www.shareable.net/blog/how-to-start-a-tool-library
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/toollibrary

 

 

Comments are closed.